Lunch, and Dinner, and Meal Prepping – oh my!

Leave a comment

October 21, 2012 by ibelieveinyoutoo

Today, I went out to lunch with my daddy before heading back to the city! We actually went to Jason’s Deli. I hadn’t been there in years, so I wasn’t sure I would eat anything there when my dad suggested we go there. I’m that girl that looks online at menus to see if I’ll eat anything there. Let me tell you! I was so shocked! They have an extensive selection of salads, and they have a salad bar!! They even have a section where you can look at the nutritional information!! WHAT! Jason’s Deli is steppin’ up! Here’s what I got:


Just look how beautiful that salad is!!! I got the “Lighter Portion” Nutty Mixed-up Salad with balsamic vinaigrette on the side! It was the perfect side! I had a few grapes and some lettuce left, even. It had the following on it: grapes, apples, grilled chicken breast, organic field greens, feta, nuts, dried cranberries, pumpkin seed, and raisins! YUM!

Well, I’m back at my apartment in the city now! So, you know what that meant: MEAL PREPPING! (I don’t think that I’ve legitimately meal prepped before, so this was perfect time to start!) Here are my prepping foods:

I made Egg Muffins! (My own recipe, even!!! Inspired by @sprint2thetable)
Ingredients:
-3 whole eggs
-3 egg whites
-1cup spinach, chopped
-1/2cup unsweetened almond milk
-~1/4cup carrots, diced small
-~1/4cup zucchini, diced small
-Reduced-fat shredded mild cheddar cheese
-Salt and pepper, to taste
-Olive oil pam & Muffin tin
Directions:
1) Whisk eggs and egg whites in a bowl.
2) Mix in chopped veggies and cheese.
3) Scoop a little under 1/4cup of the mix into a greased muffin tin. (Mine made 8 muffins.)
4) Bake at 350degrees for 18-22 minutes, depending on your oven. Broil for 2 minutes.

 

Chicken Meal Prepping!
-I started by defrosting 2 larger chicken breasts (boneless/skinless).
-One of the breasts, I chopped up and marinated in sriracha, like I did on October 16.
-The other I sliced in half to make two thinner pieces of meat and marinated in Good Seasons salad dressing (EVOO, vinegar, water, Good Seasons packet)

DINNER:

 

The egg muffins had me wanting eggs. When I went to flip it, it kinda flopped. Omelette fail? Or win? I’D HAVE TO SAY: WIN!! It was so yummy!
-3 small cherry tomatoes from the last garden picking of the season!!!
-Handful of “8 healthy chopped veggies mix” from Trader Joe’s
-Reduced-fat sharp cheddar, chopped from a block of cheese
-Avocado
-HOT, ghost pepper from the garden (I ACCIDENTALLY GOT SOME ON MY FACE/NOSE. IT BURNS. REALLY, REALLY BADLY. I had to take some warm water and baking soda and put it on my face to stop the burn! Baking soda is the only thing that truly neutralizes the burn of hot peppers!)
-2 eggs (the entire egg – more protein and nutrients!!)

Leave a Reply

