Tuesday, October 9, 2012!

Leave a comment

October 10, 2012 by ibelieveinyoutoo

Hey all!

I’ve been super busy, still. You have NO idea. Between class, rehearsals, homework, working out, sleeping, and eating, I’m swamped. But I LOVE IT!

Here are my meals from yesterday:

 

-Oat Fit Maple & Brown Sugar 100cal Oatmeal (cooked stovetop with 1/2c water)
-1T Organic Egg Whites
-1/2 banana, chopped
-1/2 pear, chopped
-2t homemade almond butter (show how-to later in this post!)
-A little Happy Trekking Trail Mix from Trader Joe’s

My lunch was just a Coconut Chocolate Chip Cliff Bar and water. I’m not one for bars because of their carb and sugar content, but once in a while is totally fine! Plus, it was delicious!

 

My dinner:

 

SO DELICIOUS!
-Baked Acorn Squash with Coconut Oil and Cinnamon (How-to shown later in post!)
-Brussels Sprouts, carrots, green beans, corn, and peas (First I boiled the BS and steamed the rest, then I sauteed all of them together with some Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
-Baked chicken with Italian seasonings, salt, and pepper

Experimentation of the day!

Roasted Acorn Squash

You’ll Need:
-1 acorn squash (I used a small one since it was my first time roasting one in the oven!)
-Coconut Oil
-Cinnamon
-Cookie sheet of some kind

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 400degrees.
2) Take an Acorn squash, cut it however you’d like. (I chopped some and kept some on the rind.)

 

3) Put the pieces on a baking sheet. Sprinkle coconut oil (I used the Trader Joe’s Coconut Oil) and cinnamon over the tops of the squash.

 

4) Put the tray in the oven. Bake it until you can put a fork through the squash smoothly. I let some of it brown up because I LOVE when it gets a little crunchy! More flavor!

 

5) Take it out when it’s done, and enjoy!!

 

Homemade Almond Butter

What you’ll need:
-2 cups raw almonds
-Food processor
-Cookie sheet of some kind

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350degrees.
2) Take 2 cups of raw almonds and lay them out on a cookie sheet, all spread out.
3) Stick tray in the oven for ~10-15 minutes. Watch them! They may be done sooner! (Mine looked about done at 11 minutes.)
3) After the almonds have cooled for a few minutes, put them in a food processor. Run food processor for 5-10 minutes (first it’ll become a powder. Keep letting it run! The oils will come out, and it’ll become moist!)
4) Put the almond butter in a tupperware or jar, and ENJOY!
Note: It has a totally different consistency since it’s homemade AND roasted. It’s almost a little bit clumpy, but it tasted darn good!

 

Have a good day, guys!!! I love you all.

Leave a Reply

